The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

I’ve been trying SO HARD to muster up the energy to blog lately but, truthfully, I’m feeling a bit “blogged out”. I have a lot of thoughts and am feeling a lot of feelings but to write them down right now feels… hard. Not hard as in “my feelings are deep and difficult” but hard as in “I’m too lazy to type stuff”.

So, today, all I have for you is THE best chocolate chip cookie recipe I have ever come across. I promise you. Truly the best.

Paul got me The Clinton St. Baking Co. Cookbook a few years ago and their chocolate chunk cookie recipe is one I always go straight to when I’m in an “I just feel like a classic chocolate chip cookie and I don’t care how much refined sugar is in it” mood.

Clinton Street Baking

Luckily for you all, their cookie recipe is posted on their website and I highly recommend you give it a try.

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Recipe by The Clinton St. Baking Co.

Makes 18 to 20 cookies

  • 2 sticks + 2 Tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 cups plus ¼ cup plus 1tablespoon all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 3/4 cups semisweet chocolate chunks (see the Note on page 193)
  1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. If using a convection oven, turn the oven to 275 degrees.
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together the butter, sugars, vanilla and cinnamon on medium speed, making sure to stop and scrape the bowl down. This will take 3 to 4 minutes.
  3. Add the egg and mix on medium – low speed until combined.
  4. Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl and add all at once to the batter. Mix the dough together on low speed until combined, making sure to stop and scrape down the bowl so that all the flour is incorporated.
  5. Fold the chocolate chunks into the dough with a spatula or spoon. Coat two cookie sheets with nonstick cooking spray or line them with parchment paper (we do both at the bakery to prevent sticking). With a 2- ounce ice cream scooper, scoop cookies onto each sheet. *Do not put too many per sheet as they will spread.
  6. You should have 18 to 20 cookies. Bake for 15 – 17 minutes, until golden and just set on top. Let cool.

Note: Do not flatten the scoops of cookie dough. Allow them to keep their round shape and they will flatten naturally in the oven.

You’re welcome.

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

  1. It’s funny, because when I feel too lazy to type stuff, or do stuff, I check to see if you wrote a new blog post 🙂 Thanks for enabling my laziness and putting something out there even when it was a lot of work for your fingers!

    Like

  2. Yummmmm. I always just make the recipe on the back of the chocolate chips package….maybe I’ll try this one next time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

