An Interesting TED Talk

My friend, Suzy, passed this TED talk onto me and I almost cried watching it. I’m grateful and incredibly privileged to live in Canada, where I received twelve months leave.

I spent the first 8 weeks of my daughter’s life struggling with breastfeeding issues, postpartum depression and a c-section recovery. I cannot imagine if I also had the pressure of returning to work. I can guarantee I would have given up on breastfeeding and I’m certain it would have also taken me longer to bond to my daughter.

Having a baby should not be treated like a quick “blip”in ones life. It is life-altering, physically, emotionally and mentally. I truly empathize with those women who have to return before they are ready. It’s heartbreaking.

Where are you from and how long of a leave did you have? Would love to know!

Leave a Reply

