9 Books I Want to Read in 2016

I’ve been spending my commute listening to audiobooks from the library. It helps me to feel productive during my long drive and I’ve been getting a lot of “reading” done this way. In the past month, I’ve listened to The Help (amazing), Big Magic (loved it) and I’ve just started Steve Martin’s An Object of Beauty (so far, so good).

I’ve been looking for my next read and, wow, there are so many books that I’d like to read in 2016. If only I’d discovered the awesomeness of audiobooks sooner, I would have made a much better Book Club member back when I was a part of one.

Here are the books I plan to read in 2016:

9 Books

RISING STRONG by Brene Brown – I discovered Brene Brown this past summer when I was listening to motivational podcasts to keep me going during my job hunt. Brene seems like such a genuine person and I’m looking forward to picking up her newest book. “Rising strong after a fall is how we cultivate wholeheartedness. It’s the process, Brown writes, that teaches us the most about who we are.”

AT THE WATER’S EDGE by Sara Gruen – I liked Sara’s first book, Water for Elephants, and this book is also getting rave reviews. “A historical timeframe in an unusual setting with a creature who may or may not be the hero of the story.”

GUT by Giulia Enders – As a person who believes in a holistic approach to health, I can’t wait to read this book. “For too long, the gut has been the body’s most ignored and least appreciated organ, but it turns out that it’s responsible for more than just dirty work: our gut is at the core of who we are.”

THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER’S WEB by David Lagercrantz – I’m not sure how good the reviews are for this book but every once in a while you need a book like this in your life. “In this adrenaline-charged thriller, genius-hacker Lisbeth Salander and journalist Mikael Blomkvist face a dangerous new threat and must again join forces.”

ALL JOY AND NO FUN by Jennifer Senior – Because parenting is the best and parenting is also hard. “Thousands of books have examined the effects of parents on their children. But almost none have thought to ask: What are the effects of children on their parents?”

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN by Paula Hawkins – I may be the only person who hasn’t yet read this book. “Only one is a killer in this nail-biting, stealthy psychological thriller about human frailty and obsession.”

SIMPLE MATTERS: LIVING WITH LESS AND ENDING UP WITH MORE by Erin Boyle – From time to time I read Erin’s blog and I am in awe of her ability to live so simply. “For anyone looking to declutter, organize, and simplify, author Erin Boyle shares practical guidance and personal insights on small-space living and conscious consumption.”

FATES AND FURIES by Lauren Groff – This book was on Elizabeth Gilbert’s list of best books in 2015. “Every story has two sides. Every relationship has two perspectives. And sometimes, it turns out, the key to a great marriage is not its truths but its secrets.”

UNFINISHED BUSINESS: WOMEN MEN WORK FAMILY by Anne-Marie SlaughterI loved Lean In and am interested in reading other perspectives on the topic of family and work.  “A powerful, persuasive, thought-provoking vision for how to finish the long struggle for equality between men and women, work and family.”

What books are on your list? Any recommendations?

Header image via Flickr

One thought on “9 Books I Want to Read in 2016

  1. I am reading “Unfinished business” now and a lot of Slauther’s thoughts resonate with me. If you haven’t, try “all the light we cannot see”. Happy reading/listening!

    Like

Leave a Reply

