Vitamix Love and My Favourite Smoothie

I was one lucky lady this Christmas.

Sure, I had a sinus infection during the holidays and, yes, I was completely miserable and, okay, I complained A LOT… But I got a Vitamix from my husband for Christmas and that brightened up my holidays, indeed.

I understand some might scoff at the fact my husband got me a kitchen appliance for Christmas but dammit if I don’t love me a practical gift like a new blender. And this isn’t just any blender… It’s super-powered. At long last, no more chewing my smoothies because my blender couldn’t pulverize my kale properly.

14445526975_8ad8d4362f_k

Source

I’ve been experimenting with different flavour combinations, but the smoothie I’m currently addicted to is one inspired by Dreena Burton’s Immunity Zinger smoothie. I use:

  • One banana
  • One apple
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • A couple of big handfuls of spinach
  • 1/2 lemon, peeled
  • About a one-inch knob of ginger, peeled
  • About 1/4 cup water
  • Tablespoon of chia seeds
  • Tablespoon of hemp seeds

It’s definitely got some zing to it and helps me start my morning off right. I was previously adding protein powder to my morning smoothies but I don’t feel I need the extra fuel right now. When I get the motivation to ramp up my running again, my nutritional needs will change.

Do you have a Vitamix? If you have a favourite smoothie, I’d love it if you left the recipe in the comments!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Vitamix Love and My Favourite Smoothie

  1. I’ve had my vitamix for a few years now and I love it.
    This is my favourite smoothie recipe:
    – a lot of spinach
    – one beet
    – almond milk and/or plain yogurt
    – one banana
    – raspberries, cherries, blueberries or combination
    – sometimes: chia seeds, cinnamon, vanilla, or other frozen fruit
    It’s loosely based on this blood building smoothie bowl recipe:
    http://www.mynewroots.org/site/2015/11/beet-raspbery-and-vanilla-smoothie-bowl/

    Like

Leave a Reply

