My Secrets of Adulthood

I recently read Gretchen Rubin’s wonderful book, Better Than Before.

One thing that resonated with me throughout this book was the fact that more routine does not mean less life. In fact, by implementing certain habits or routines, we have fewer decisions to make, leaving more room in our life for other things.

I’m a creature of habit and have always looked upon this trait negatively. That somehow it makes me boring. In reading this book, however, I realized that, if harnessed correctly, I can actually use it to my advantage. It was a bit of an Oprah “aha” moment for me.

One thing I love about Gretchen Rubin is her “Secrets of Adulthood“; the principles or teachings Gretchen has learned over time. Secrets of Adulthood are personal in nature and are based on individual truths. They are the things in life you know for sure.

I was thinking about what my Secrets of Adulthood would be. Here is what I think I’ve learned so far:

Three Pics

  1. Always read the full recipe before you start cooking.
  2. Don’t go it alone.
  3. The only workout you’ll regret is the one that didn’t happen.
  4. A Sunday well spent brings a week of content.
  5. It’s not about having time. It’s about making time.
  6. Family time is the best time.
  7. Always bring snacks.
  8. The best way to get something done is to begin.
  9. Travel is money well spent.
  10. Most of the bad things I imagine will happen will never actually happen. This quote says it best: “I’ve had a lot of worries in my life, most of which never happened.” ― Mark Twain
  11. Some services are worth paying for.
  12. “If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading.” ― Gautama Buddha
  13. The secret to success is found in your daily routine.
  14. Stay true to your temperament. It’s okay to be an introvert.
  15. “…Let the quiet put things where they are supposed to be.” – Stephen ChboskyThe Perks of Being a Wallflower
  16. There is magic in making your bed everyday.
  17. Make-ahead meals make for easier entertaining.
  18. “Life is not just about the good things or not just about the bad things. It is both. It all depends where you focus your attention.” ― Ann Marie Aguilar
  19. “Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.”- John Lennon
  20. If it takes less than two minutes, do it now.

Three Pic Collage 2

I love Gretchen’s list and a few in particular:

  1. The days are long, but the years are short.
  2. You know as much as most people.
  3. What’s fun for other people may not be fun for you–and vice versa.
  4. You can choose what you do; you can’t choose what you LIKE to do.
  5. What you do EVERY DAY matters more than what you do ONCE IN A WHILE.

Do you have any Secrets of Adulthood? Leave one in the comments!

7 thoughts on “My Secrets of Adulthood

  1. Remember to breathe.

    I love all of your secrets and I’m glad that the Lennon quote stuck with you. I haven’t read Rubin’s latest book but I quite enjoyed her Happiness Project and I think you picked out the best of her secrets of adulthood too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

