What are your favourite children’s books?

You guys, there are so many bad children’s books out there. Like, really bad. And, unfortunately, the ones my son gravitates to are the worst of the worst. But, since we frequent the library quite often to pick up new books, I recently asked a few of my friends: What books do you love to read with your children? Here are some of their answers:

Book Post

Franklin books by Paulette Bourgeois and Brenda Clark. “They go over like a nice warm blanket to my kids and they always, always come away drowsy.”

Andrew’s Loose Tooth by Robert Munsch. “I like how the tooth fairy shows up on a motorcycle, is not your typical fairy, and it’s the perfect length for bedtime.”

The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats. “It’s a simple story that evokes positive feelings about winter and excitement for snow. It gives enough detail to keep the story interesting but not too much that you can’t use your own imagination too.”

On the Night You Were Born by Nancy Tillman. “The artwork is beautiful and sometimes breathtaking, and the way she composes her books is soothing and always lovely.”

The Bear books by Karma Wilson and Jane Chapman. “They are lovely to read out loud with such an enjoyable rhythm and just nice heartwarming little stories about being kind and helpful.”

My personal favorite is This Moose Belongs to Me by Oliver Jeffers. It is such a creative book, both in its dialogue and artwork. I never tire of it.

I am also curious to check out The Rabbit Who Wants to Fall Asleep: A New Way of Getting Children to Sleep. I’ve heard it actually works!

Do you have a favourite book to read with your children? Please let me know in the comments! Happy reading.

(Header Image via Flickr)

 

6 thoughts on “What are your favourite children’s books?

  1. I still love Goodnight Moon and Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day. Oliver Jeffers is always good and Sandra Boynton books are fun to read. Her interactive on-line books are great too.

    Like

  2. Some of my favourite children’s books I had growing up that I STILL own and hope to pass on to my children, as well as my step son are the Shel Silverstein poetry books. Each birthday while I was in elementary school my parents would gift one to me. One book I recently stumbled on that I thought was really clever and simple is a book called This is Not My Hat. It’s about a fish that steals a hat…I won’t ruin the ending, and the illustrations are adorable and very funny.

    Like

    1. That is so great you kept your childhood books. We have Shel Silverstein’s The Giving Tree but it honestly really depresses me! I’ll have to get This Is Not My Hat from the library. I love books with great illustrations!

      Like

Leave a Reply

