That Fitbit Life

I had grand plans to write a poignant piece about women in the workforce for this post.

But then I bought a Fitbit Charge on Sunday.

Excited by my purchase, I texted my sister-in-law, who immediately set up a “Workweek Hustle” contest. 

The reason why I don’t have time to write my original post is because I’m currently at 34,223 steps and the leader is at 43,017. I’m not sure how I’m going to be able to come back from this deficit. Curse you sedentary desk job! I have spent my evenings going for long walks, then pacing around my home to make it to the 15,000 mark by bedtime. I’m all for exercise but I have things I need to do that I haven’t accomplished because I just need those steps. It is all consuming. 

God, I hate to lose. 

Don’t have a Fitbit? Read these links and begin to understand the obsession. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go take 10,000 steps by bedtime.

  1. A thin line between health and unhealthy obsession
  2. My Fitness Tracking Obsession Got So Out of Control, Even My Dog Got Tired of Walking With Me
  3. Stepping Out

(Header image source)

8 thoughts on “That Fitbit Life

  1. I really enjoyed this post (and I hope you do write the original idea about women in the workforce) – you have a very engaging style. I’ve been using a cycling app for my rides, but at some point after reaching my first milestone (1000 km) I have used it less. Definitely the goal is a motivator, and it is nice to be able to track progress.

    Like

  2. I remember introducing the FitBit to my boss for the first time at my work. She loved it. Its actually an excellent way to create a healthy active network in your work force if you get the online format set up. You can compete against people in your office with respect to how many steps you’ve taken and how far you walked.

    Like

Leave a Reply

