Weeknight Slow-Cooker Recipes

About two days into my new job, Paul and I started to wonder how we were going to put a home-cooked meal on the table every night by a reasonable hour. I’ve been a working mom before, but I was never a working mom battling GTA traffic. It adds a whole other dimension to the complexities of a dual income household.

Enter: the slow-cooker.

I love love love my slow-cooker. But so many slow-cooker recipes involve cooking a bunch of ingredients before throwing them in the slow-cooker. Doesn’t that negate the benefits of using a slow-cooker? My go-to slow-cooker recipes have one rule: they should require just throwing a bunch of ingredients into my slow-cooker and then going about the rest of my day. Most times, this means chicken recipes since ground meats usually need browning first.

Here are my five favourite slow-cooker recipes that require limited effort. Just add some simple vegetable side dishes and – ta-da- dinner is served before my kids melt into a puddle of tears.

Chicken Taco Chili

Pulled Barbecue Chicken

2 Ingredient Paleo Crockpot Chicken

Santa Fe Chicken

Mexican Flank Steak

Do you love your slow-cooker as much as I do? Link your favourite slow-cooker recipe in the comments. I’m always on the look out for new recipes to try.

6 thoughts on “Weeknight Slow-Cooker Recipes

    1. You should! My one recommendation if you make the two ingredient chicken is to use a really delicious salsa. Some brands make the recipe less flavourful than others.

      Like

Leave a Reply

