My Green Guilt

I have green guilt when it comes to the skin care products I buy for myself.

I want to be a green beauty believer with an organic, all natural beauty routine, but the good stuff- the face washes and the lotions and potions with unpronounceable ingredients- are what keep my adult acne at bay, my hair from feeling like straw and my self-esteem intact.

Logically, I know there are ingredients I should avoid and products I shouldn’t buy. I know this because I read and listen to health and wellness information voraciously and, well, I’ve come to believe in a holistic approach to health. Educating myself on my health has impacted all of my habits: what I eat, how much I sleep, how much exercise I get, what supplements I take. Hell, I even recently endured a week of feeling like my brain was bleeding after giving up coffee because of a book I read.

IMG_4318
Definitely not purchased at Whole Foods.

So, I wanted to take it to heart and change my habits, then, when this book told me that three-quarters of all brand-name cosmetics contain phthalates, chemicals that have been strongly inked with hormone disruption. And when I read in this book that I’m using formaldehyde on my hair. And yesterday I got slightly concerned when I read this article that told me we basically all killing ourselves.

But my fear of all these toxic chemicals is apparently less than my fear of going out into the world with terrible skin so I keep slathering myself with my chemical laden lotions because, well, they absorb properly and the non-chemical versions never seems to rub in and they make me look like a ghost. #vain

So, help me green beauty mavens. Tell me your ways. What are your favourite natural products that can help me make the transition and repent my toxic sins?

4 thoughts on “My Green Guilt

  1. Claire I just use coconut oil to wash my face. It’s a natural make up remover. I also use coconut cream as lotion at night. I’ve also heard honey and water is a great cleanser and helps hydrate your face. 🙂
    If you ever find an effective organic deodarent let me know cause they all suck. haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

